How to manage terms

Here you find instructions on how to create, rename, move, merge, deprecate, delete, reuse, pin and sort terms in SharePoint’s term store.

How to create a term

  1. Open the term store.
  2. Hover with the mouse over the term set where you want to create the term, till it shows an arrow on its right hand side. Click thereafter on the arrow and then select the “Create Term” function:
    Create a term
    If terms are to be children of a specific term (created in a hierarchical structure), do the same procedure but now hover over a term’s name, till it shows an arrow on its right hand side.
  3. Type a meaningful name for the term and press the enter key on your keyboard.
    Give the term a meaningful name
  4. If a term is not to be used as a document’s tag (only used to group similar terms), then unmark the check box “Available for tagging” and click on the “Save” button:
    Define if the term should be available for tagging
  5. If you want a description to be shown when hovering over a term, give the term a “Description”:
    Give the term a meaningful description
  6. If the term has more than one logical name, add “Other labels” to it, like in this example:
    If applicable, give the term other labels
    This will make it possible to search on both the default label and any other labels, both in the document property form and in the search box, so that you get a result, even if you search for an alternative label, as in this example:
    Search for terms
  7. Newly created terms will directly be available in MetaShare. If MetaShare however already is open in a browser session you will first need to refresh the page before you will see the newly created term.

How to rename a term

  1. Open the term store.
  2. Open the term set where the term that you want to rename is located.
  3. Click on the term that you want to rename.
  4. On the term’s page, change the term’s “Default label” and click on the “Save” button:
    Rename a term
  5. Renamed terms will directly be reflected in MetaShare’s document filters and the documents’ property forms (when uploading or creating documents and when editing a document’s properties). If MetaShare already is open in a browser session you will however first need to refresh the page before you will see the renamed term.
  6. Documents that were tagged with a term that has been renamed will initially show the term’s old name, but within an hour the document’s tag should be renamed. If the term also is used as workspace metadata these will not be reflected directly in MetaShare’s start page. You will first have to edit one of the workspaces that has the renamed term. After this update, all of the other workspaces that were tagged with the renamed term will now get the correct term.

How to move a term

The main reason to move terms is to have them logically grouped in a hierarchical manner within the same term set.

  1. Open the term store.
  2. Open the term set where the term that you want to move is located.
  3. Hover with the mouse over the term that you want to move, till it shows an arrow on its right hand side. Click thereafter on the arrow and then select the “Move Term” function:
    Move a term
  4. Select a destination for the term (its future parent) and then click on the “OK” button.
  5. Moved terms will directly be reflected in MetaShare’s document filters. If MetaShare already is open in a browser session you will however first need to refresh the page before you will see the renamed term.

How to merge terms

The main reason to merge 2 terms is if the terms mean the same thing. After merging term X to term Y, documents that were tagged with term X will after the merge be tagged with term Y.

  1. Open the term store.
  2. Open the term set where the terms that you want to merge are located.
  3. Hover with the mouse over the term that you want to merge with another term, till it shows an arrow on its right hand side. Click thereafter on the arrow and then select the “Merge Terms” function:
    Merge a term
    Note that the term that you merge with needs to be on the same hierarchical level, so if the term that you want to merge with is child to another term, you first need to move the source term to the same parent.
  4. Select the term that the term is to be merged with and then click on the “OK” button.
  5. The label of the term that you merged will be added as “Other labels”. If you do not want to keep this, you can safely remove the “Other label”.
  6. Merged terms will directly be reflected in MetaShare’s document filters and the documents’ property forms (when uploading or creating documents and when editing a document’s properties). If MetaShare already is open in a browser session you will however first need to refresh the page before you will see the renamed term.
  7. Documents that previously were tagged with the term that was merged into another term will within an hour automatically be tagged with the term that it was merged into.

How to deprecate a term

The main reason to deprecate a term is if you don’t want new documents to be tagged with a specific term but still allow old documents to be tagged with the term, even if you edit them or edit their documents’ properties. It could, e.g. apply to a product that no longer is sold or managed. So if there are documents that are tagged with the term, deprecate it instead of deleting it.

  1. Open the term store.
  2. Open the term set where the terms that you want to deprecate are located.
  3. Hover with the mouse over the term that you want to deprecate, till it shows an arrow on its right hand side. Click thereafter on the arrow and then select the “Deprecate Term” function:
    Deprecate a term

How to delete a term

The only time you really should delete a terms is if the term has never been used and you don’t need it anymore. Else you should either merge it to another term or deprecate it.

  1. Open the term store.
  2. Open the term set where the terms that you want to merge are located.
  3. Hover with the mouse over the term that you want to delete, till it shows an arrow on its right hand side. Click thereafter on the arrow and then select the “Delete Term” function:
    Delete a term

Note

  1. The term store does not have any recycle bin, so if you delete a term that’s being used, then all documents that are using this term will have a link to a term that no longer exists.
  2. If you delete a term that has been reused and therefore has this symbol:
    A reused term
    you should first check if the term is the “Source term”, in the term’s “Member of” section. If it is then change the “Source term” to the term that will be left in the term store and click on the “Save” button.
    How to define if a term is the source term
    After this you can safely delete the term.
    If you however accidentally delete the source term, you will later be able to find the deleted term under a term set under the “System” term set group and can do the change from there:
    Orphaned terms
    After making the change, the orphaned term will be deleted.

How to reuse or pin terms

Terms can be reused/pinned in other locations in the term hierarchy. Changes to reused terms are synchronized in both directions. The pinned terms are similar to reused terms except that pinned terms can only be modified from the source location (the pinned terms in the destination location are read-only).

  1. Open the term store.
  2. Hover with the mouse over the term set where you want to reuse/pin a term from another term set, till it shows an arrow on its right hand side. Click thereafter on the arrow and then select the “Reuse Terms” or the “Pin Term with Children” functions:
    Reuse or pin a term
  3. Select the term that you want to copy and then click on the “OK” button.
    1. If you selected the reuse function, the term will get this symbol:
      A reused term
    2. If you selected the pin function, the term will get this symbol:
      A pinned term

How to sort terms in a custom order

By default terms are presented in alphabetical order but if you want them to be presented in another order you can do this by selecting the “Custom Sort” tab. Here you first need to change the sort order from “Use default sort order according to current language” to “Use custom sort order” and then you have to add the sort order for all the terms in the term set:

If you later want to revert to standard sort order just change the radio button option back to “Use default sort order according to current language”.A term set with custom sorting